AAP sweeps Delhi assembly elections by winning 62 seats

February 11, 2020 : Aam Aadmi Party has swept Delhi Assembly elections bagging 62 seats. The party retained power in Delhi for the third time. BJP has bagged 8 seats in the 70-member Assembly.
The contest is between AAP and the BJP with Congress nowhere in the reckoning. Among the prominent AAP leaders who won the elections so far include Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal from New Delhi, Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia from Patparganj, Gopal Rai from Babarpur, Satyendar Jain from Shakur Basti, Raghav Chadha from Rajinder Nagar, Rakhi Birla from Mangolpuri, and Ajay Dutt from Ambedkar Nagar.
Among Sitting BJP MLAs, Vijender Gupta from Rohini and Om Prakash Sharma from Vishwas Nagar managed to hold the fort against their AAP challengers.
Celebrations broke out at AAP headquarters as trends showed that the party heading towards a comfortable majority. AAP office was decorated with blue and white balloons and big cut-outs of party Convenor Arvind Kejriwal.  
Counting of votes is progressing smoothly amid tight security. The counting began at 8 this morning with postal ballots. The votes cast through electronic voting machines (EVMs) were taken up after that. Each EVM consists of a ballot unit, a control unit and a voter-verifiable paper audit trail (VVPAT).
After counting of votes through control units from every assembly constituency, five VVPATs are randomly selected and they are counted. 62.59 per cent voter turnout was recorded this year, five per cent less than 2015 assembly polls.(newsonair)